celiacdiseasediet12100Low's Blog

6 Tips for Gluten-Free Living

Categories: Blog March 31, 2015 @ 11:10 AM 0 Comments      

celiac disease diet - 12,100 Low
How would you act if you were told your favorite foods like pizza, pasta and muffins were making you seriously ill? This is a reality for 1 out of every 133 people when they learn they've got Celiac Disease, an inherited autoimmune disorder that causes potentially life threatening harm to the intestines when glutens are consumed. Present in products that contain wheat, barley and rye, glutens inhibit the little intestine's ability to absorb minerals and vitamins, leading to conditions like anemia and osteoporosis.

Celiac Disease is a lifelong condition managed and controlled only by changing to a gluten-free diet. Those who live with the disease cannot eat most bread, cereal, and grain based products. The biggest challenge when changing to the new diet and lifestyle is to make sure that the body gets all of the essential vitamins and nutrients it takes.

Fortunately, many foods like fruit and veggies are naturally gluten-free, although some foods are made using products instead. If you're one of the nearly 3 million people coping with Celiac Disease, follow these 6 strategies for a healthy gluten-free lifestyle:

1. Give attention to what you CAN eat
Healthy, familiar foods that won't contain glutens include fruits, vegetables, rice, potatoes, oils, nearly all daily products including eggs, and meat and fish which have not been marinated, breaded or processed. Beans are a fantastic gluten-free source of protein and fiber. Gluten-free grains include rice, corn, quinoa, buckwheat and sorghum. These grains can be created into gluten-free flour and baking mixes which can safely be used to make pizza, cookies, muffins and other baked goods.

2. Know what's not allowed
Popular foods that contain gluten are bread, bagels, crackers, cereals made with wheat, barley or rye, pasta and beer. Wheat of all sorts should be avoided including any products with things that contain wheat within the name. Wheat is clearly labeled on all packaged food regulated by the FDA.

3. Learn how to read labels
All ingredients in packaged products should be included on the label. In the event the label says "gluten-free", then it's. Be aware that foods labeled wheat-free may still contain gluten. If you're unsure set up product contains gluten, call the toll-free number listed on the package and speak to the manufacturer.

4. Be aware of maybe's
Things that might contain gluten include medications, processed cheese, as well as other prepared foods like meats that have been seasoned. While artificial flavors and spices don't include gluten, some naturally flavored seasonings do.

5. Embrace the growing marketplace:
Most grocery and specialty food stores will have sections dedicated to everyday food products without gluten. As Coeliac disease becomes more widely understood, gluten-free items are increasingly appearing on restaurant menus. A number of cookbooks dedicated to recipes and nutrition tips are now widely available in bookstores and libraries.

6. Stay informed
When adjusting to a new diet and lifestyle, it's essential to educate everyone in the household, particularly if some family members aren't on the diet. Label wheat and non-wheat products, and steer clear of cross contamination with the cooking with items like knives, colanders and pasta pots. Understand the symptoms of Celiac Disease since 17% of people who have it also have an instantaneous family member with the condition.

Only class members may leave comments.