4 Options for End-of-Year Transitions

@ashleyraefitz Enjoying week 1 of gbc16

It happens every year when the end of the school year approaches: your to-do list continues to grow as time slips away. For Kidblog members, one of the items on your list is “wrapping up” this year’s blogs, ensuring your students have the tools to continue building their learning portfolio with next year’s teacher (and beyond).

By the way, if you’re a teacher with multiple colleagues using Kidblog in your school/district, Admin Pro is the way to go.

Teachers have several options when transitioning classes at the end of the school year. Choose the one that matches your goals for past, current, and future students.

Option 1: Archive your current class and create a new class for the new school year.

Archiving your former classes allows you to preserve a rich history of publishing activity from prior years. All content remains in place, but students can no longer add or edit posts within that class. You may restore a class to an “active” status at any time. To archive:

From the Dashboard, click “More”.

Click 'More'

Then, select “Archive”.

Click 'Archive'

When you’re ready to add next year’s class, click the “Create Class +” button. Using a name/URL like “Mrs. Wilson’s Class 2016-2017” helps chronologically organize multiple years.

Create a new class

Option 2: Remove students from the class, but keep the posts/comments from last year’s students.

Some teachers prefer to have successive groups of students continue to add to content to the same class. Former students’ past posts can serve as exemplars and motivate new students creating their own blogs. You might also teach a multi-age or “looping” classroom where some students will continue to publish the in the same class the following year while some students move to other classes. To remove former students from your class while still keeping their rich post/comment history from previous years:

From your class Settings->Users page, check the box next to each student’s name you want to remove.

Bulk Remove Students check boxes

Click the “Manage” button to remove all selected students from the class. Remember, no posts or comments will be deleted.

Bulk Remove Students

Option 3: Remove students and all posts from the class.

If you want to start fresh with new students but keep your original class URL and its connections, you can remove all content from your current class by following the simple steps below.

First, follow the steps above to remove students from your class. Next, posts within a class can be removed individually or in bulk.

To use the bulk editing feature, click the List icon at the top right of the Posts view.

Switch to list view

Click the checkbox next to the posts or comments you wish to remove and click the bulk “Edit” button.

Click edit

Change the post status to “Trash” and check the box to “Remove posts from this class”. These posts and their comments will no longer appear in the class view.

Select Trash

Option 4: Delete a class entirely (not recommended).

Finally, you have the option to delete your entire class. This option is strongly discouraged, as it is destructive with respect to content and user management. By deleting the class, you are deleting your ability to manage any of the posts, comments, or users within the class. Students will continue to have a record of posts via their private portfolios. However, students (without emails) who use your class page to log in will no longer be able to access their account. This prevents these students from being able to continue building their portfolio next year. Deleting a class should only take place if a class was used for testing or “demo” purposes and did not contain any actual student work.

To delete a class entirely, you will first need to archive the class (see Option 1). After archiving, you will be given the option to delete the class.

Delete

Part of celebrating your students’ successes from the past year is preparing your Kidblog class for the new year. Under your guidance, students have created a body of work that is designed to follow them throughout their learning journey. Wrap up the year by ensuring your students can keep this momentum going!

About the Author
The Kidblog team is passionate about helping students find their voice within a safe, teacher-moderated environment.

3 comments

  1. Chris

    Maybe I’m seeing but not recognizing this, but is it possible to transfer a student and that student’s posts from one class to another?

    Thanks.

    CA

    • Laura Kniffin

      Hi Chris,

      Thank you for your question! A student in Kidblog can be transferred to a new Kidblog class via join-codes.

      Posts, however, exist within the class in which they were published. While the posts will travel with a student in the context of that student’s portfolio, they will not move into the new class.

Leave a Reply to Augustus Cancel reply

For individual teachers, memberships are $54 $44/year with promo code JANUARY18 or $12/month.

Enroll your grade level/school/district, priced per student. Discounts may apply.